The Simon Center for the Professional Military Ethic


    Drunk Driving - CASE STUDY

    Share
    avatar
    Admin
    Admin

    Posts : 99
    Join date : 2009-10-26
    Location : West Point, NY

    Drunk Driving - CASE STUDY

    Post by Admin on Fri Oct 30, 2009 1:11 pm

    Drunk Driving

    In New Jersey a person convicted of his first drunk driving offense faces a mandatory suspension of his license for six months, and the possibility of a thirty-day jail sentence. In addition, the offender must pay a mandatory fine of $250 and a $100 fee to support law enforcement efforts to catch other drunk drivers. Convicted drunk drivers are also required to undergo a minimum of 12 hours counseling for which they must pay a $1,000 surcharge for each of three years, as well as $50 a day. In addition, drunk drivers receive 9 “insurance points” that could subject them to huge increases in their insurance premiums. The total cost for a first offense of drunk driving in New Jersey probably exceeds $9,000.

    Is the New Jersey penalty for drunk driving fair or unfair? Explain your answer.

    Notes:

    Fourth Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl, APPE, 2/26/98

    ALL RIGHTS RESERVED
    (c) Association for Practical and Professional Ethics (APPE)

      Current date/time is Sat Dec 16, 2017 3:44 pm